Wayne Richards sporting scholarship

The Port Macquarie Hastings Sporting Fund oversees the annual Wayne Richards Sporting Scholarship as part of the Sunrise Hastings Sports Awards. The Wayne Richards Sporting Scholarship is a $5,000 Council contribution to a local athlete who is between 13-21 years of age competing at State, National or International sporting level. The scholarship assists with registration fees, equipment, and costs associated with travel to sporting events outside the Port Macquarie Hastings Local Government Area.


Applications for 2023 are now closed.

  • Entries for 9 other sports awards including Sportsperson(s) of the Year (senior and junior), team, volunteer, disability are via the Sports Awards website at: Port Macquarie Hastings Sports Awards

Sunrise Hastings Sports Awards 

Scholarship and award category winners were announced at the Sunrise Hastings Sports Awards breakfast on 20 October 2023. For information on the Sports Awards, visit the Port Macquarie-Hastings Sport Awards website.


Before applying

Who can apply?

Applicants must be: 

  • Between 13 and 21 years of age at the time applications close
  • An Australian Citizen or have permanent resident status
  • A permanent resident of the Port Macquarie-Hastings local government area
  • Participating as an athlete in a sport endorsed by the relevant Australian Sports Commission (ASC) and recognised by the National Sporting Organisation (NSO).

Some sports are not recognised, so please check with your sporting organisation. For example, the following sports are not Australian Sports Commission recognised National Sporting Organisations:

  • Futsal
  • Oz tag
  • Cheerleading
  • Royal life saving
  • Surf life saving

Check the full eligibility conditions for the scholarship at Wayne Richards Sporting Scholarship Guidelines(PDF, 247KB).


Applications for the Wayne Richards Sporting Scholarship are now closed for 2023.

The 2023 Wayne Richards Sporting Scholarship winner was Skyla Lange for Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

2022-23 Wayne Richards Scholarship Winner Trent Alley